Re: OT - Nominet
- From: "Bob Eager" <rde42@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: 31 Dec 2005 20:33:36 GMT
On Sat, 31 Dec 2005 19:58:52 UTC, "JIP" <JIP@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
wrote:
> Sorry, don't know where else to post.
>
> Earlier in the year I registered one or two domain names, including two
> .co.uk ones through 123-re.co.uk
>
> I just had a letter in the post from Nominet asking me to go to their site
> to verify my details.
>
> Is this genuine? Or a scam to get info from me?
Perfectly genuine. They started doing it a while ago, and I've had
letters for a few of my domains. It's no greate hassle, and you can see
you're on the genuine Nominet site anyway.
You only have to update the basic details, and it does make sure that
you are the right person. More worrying if you don't eventually get one!
It takes about five minutes to do it all, and you get to download a nice
colour copy of your certificate. Don't ignore it (even if some people
do); apart from anything else it's probably a safeguard against slipups
by whoever actually did your registration (usually your ISP).
--
[ 7'ism - a condition by which the sufferer experiences an inability
to give concise answers, express reasoned argument or opinion.
Usually accompanied by silly noises and gestures - incurable, early
euthanasia recommended. ]
.
- References:
- OT - Nominet
- From: JIP
- OT - Nominet
- Prev by Date: Re: OT - Nominet
- Next by Date: Re: OT - Nominet
- Previous by thread: Re: OT - Nominet
- Next by thread: Re: OT - Nominet
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|