Re: Telescope Scammer




"Redman" <redman1977@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:TDj_i.134440$Nb1.43820@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Chris Malme" <see_signature@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:Xns99E78AEDC498Ffilklore@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
richard@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (Richard Tobin) wrote in news:fhc4vl$2a8o$1@pc-
news.cogsci.ed.ac.uk:

When you get something like this, try doing a Google search for phrases
from it. For example, if you search for

"certified Banker draft Cheque"

you get results including this one:

http://www.astrobuysell.com/fraud_alert.htm

It's definitely a scam. In fact the page you refer to even contains this
very version, except there he is working for "the "swedish air" rather
than
the canadian one:

"Prsently i work with the swedish air and i will be going on a trip in
Sweden, But we are located in abreedish,North Wales I will instruct My
wife
she work in the liverpool networking firm she will be making the payment
to
you hereafter by certified Banker draft Cheque from the National Irish
Bank
Probably it takes fews days to be creditied funds into your account upon
bank confirmation."

Guess this airline pilot gets around!

Even without this, I would have marked this as suspicious. Anywhere where
people are apparently giving you more information than they need to -
where
they work, where their wife works, where they live, what their work is -
without actually telling you - "the canadian/swedish airline", "the
liverpool networking firm", "abreedish" (can't find it, and if they live
there, they would surely be able to spell it!) - you can be pretty
certain
they are scamming you.

The literacy of the letter would also raise my suspicions - although I
realise not everyone writes emails that are punctuated and gramatically
correct, one would suspect that an airline pilot living in the UK could
write reasonable English.

Yeah thanks, it was the literacy that got me suspicious

Redman

--
Chris
Minstrel's Hall of Filk - http://www.filklore.com/
Filklore Music Store - http://www.filklore.co.uk/
To contact me, please use form at http://www.filklore.com/contact.phtml

The last part in which he pushes you into a reply of any kind that
translates into automatically agreeing with his offer and his terms is very
similar to the used car dealers
ploy of " I have someone coming here soon who wants to by it, so if you
wait it will be gone". Add that to all the other objections I've seen here.
Bill.



.


Quantcast