Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: "James" <nomail@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Mon, 5 Jul 2010 21:50:29 +0100
"Mark Goodge" <usenet@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message news:t2g43656qr5cd88rndnqpsgldjulhvjqpt@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
On Mon, 5 Jul 2010 20:54:07 +0100, James put finger to keyboard and typed:Yup, I change my passwords every two months - just a tad paranoid me :-)
"Mark Goodge" <usenet@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:chb436144j0ahekfure413fmk060v166ru@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
On Mon, 05 Jul 2010 00:45:46 +0100, John R put finger to keyboard andHi Mark,
typed:
On Sun, 04 Jul 2010 17:30:06 +0100, Mark Goodge
<usenet@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On Sun, 4 Jul 2010 16:53:07 +0100, Tony Gillam put finger to keyboard and
typed:Given the apparent malicious nature of this URL, the question is "was it
deliberate and, if so, what sanction should be imposed by the
moderators?"
I very much doubt it's deliberate. The poster is an infrequent, but
known,
contributor to this group and has never before posted a link to an
infected
URL. Moreover, the extremely amateurish design of the website in question
strongly suggests incompetance rather than malice. Looking at the source
of
the infected pages, it appears to be a fairly common and simple form of
hack.
So how do you know that the site contains malicious script?
Initially, because my browser (Chrome) alerted me to the fact when I tried
to visit it. I subsequently checked the source of the site, and discovered
that it does, indeed, harbour malicious code.
If you would like access to the files there and conduct your own tests,
please contact me and I will provide you with a temp. password.
I have access to the files. I can see them by using "view source" on my
browser. And there is a whopping great big chunk of malicious javascript
code in there.
Unfortunately, it seems modern browsers alert for active x and ceryain java
all the time. Why I just do not know. When first using a new Vista desktop
and upgraded to IE8 (as IE7 kept crashing), nearly every site (under Norton)
gave a warning including Amazon.
It's not a false alarm. There really is malicious code on your website.
Why would I have malware etc on my site when I am using it to sell my
Christian books? It would be just crazy.
Because someone other than you put it there. Your site has been hacked.
As stated in a previous message, I have checked and scanned every file on
the site, deleted everything and uploaded the original backup (which was
also scanned) so the site is 100% safe regardless what any browser warning
of AV warning is given.
Have you changed the passwords for the site? If not, then whatever infected
the site before can easily infect it again.
Mark
--
Blog: http://mark.goodge.co.uk
Stuff: http://www.good-stuff.co.uk
Only the two pdf files now live at the site. I have downloaded the others and will (if health is fine) compare the two (uploaded and original) line by line tonight though expect it will take afew hours. Again, I can only guess it is the coding created bt xara which adds a link back to their site (so they claim) but cannot find exactly where.
Take care and God Bless,
JJ
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Mark Goodge
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- References:
- Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: James
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Alwyn
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Gareth McCaughan
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Tony Gillam
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Mark Goodge
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: John R
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Mark Goodge
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: James
- Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- From: Mark Goodge
- Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- Prev by Date: Re: "And God said, Let us make man in our IMAGE, after our LIKENESS:" Gen 1:26 was [Meaning of Holy Week?
- Next by Date: Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- Previous by thread: Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- Next by thread: Re: Around 700 Christian Books for sale
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|