Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: "Rob Gordon" <rob@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sun, 4 Dec 2005 10:26:58 -0000
"Carl Waring" <carl.waring@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:TDykf.2093$iz3.467@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Rob Gordon wrote:
>> "Steve Walker" <spam-trap@xxxxxxxx> wrote in message
>> news:3vejogF15il5dU1@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>>> Rob Gordon wrote:
>>>
>>>> The last line of his email is a classic though (again I won't
>>>> quote directly) but he hopes that I have the good sense to
>>>> contact him for his advice which initially will be free.
>>>
>>> Bingo. Fear-based sales pitch.
>>>
>>
>> Yes that's what I basically thought. I was going to simply ignore it,
>> but now that he has made attempts to contact my clients it's getting
>> more serious. (See my post with UPDATE in the subject) So far it's 1
>> active client, 1 old inactive client, and 1 poor directory engine.
>> Perhaps he'll be onto Yahoo next...
>>
>> Rob
>
> I'm not seeing the UPDATEd post. Can you give me the jist of it. This is
> riveting stuff ;-)
>
> --
> Carl Waring
> http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495
>
The UPDATE post is a direct reply to my original post (so in my view lower
than this sub-thread) So much is lost in my rewording, it'd be nice to post
his email content directly, however I'm unsure at this moment if that would
constitute a further breach of his privacy / data protection...
Text copied below:
Thank you to everyone who has replied with supportive messages.
Things have now taken a worse twist, he HAS started emailing my clients and
giving them the full rhetoric.
So far he has emailed the first client that prompted my original post, and
now a second client that I did a website for about 4 years ago and now is
nothing more than a holding page and DOESN'T have my name anywhere on it
now. (It's been bought out and now part of a larger website). This is lucky
but I'm waiting for him to start emailing current clients.
I'm also confused as to how he found out I did this site so long ago. As far
as I know it's been a defunct holding page for years. I checked Google to
see if there was a cached version, but nope. The only possibility is the
Internet Archive I guess.
He has also emailed a directory based site called suffolksearch.co.uk that
has me listed in the website designers category and given them a long
lecture about that they are "unwittingly giving credance to [my company]" -
I quoted that bit, forgive me. He finished with the usual line of "Just
remember that I told you so, and that your Website designer placed you in
such a position." (again quoted) but I obviously didn't design the site for
suffolksearch.co.uk they merely list me, along with about a thousand other
websites...
Rob
.
- References:
- Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: Rob Gordon
- Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: martin
- Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: Rob Gordon
- Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: Steve Walker
- Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: Rob Gordon
- Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- From: Carl Waring
- Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- Prev by Date: Re: Filibustering
- Next by Date: Re: Filibustering
- Previous by thread: Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- Next by thread: Re: Sued for providing a Website Form ??
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|