Re: Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- From: Jim Howes <sewoh.mij@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Wed, 22 Mar 2006 10:32:44 +0000
Charlie Drake wrote:
It seems to be a SPAM subs mail every link in the mail points to a spam
subscription site.
How so?
wdc.com was registered by, and uses the same nameservers as westerndigital.com.
www.wdc.com is 129.253.170.35, ARIN thinks
OrgName: Western Digital Corporation
OrgID: WDC-7
Address: 8105 Irvine Center Drive
City: Irvine
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 92718
Country: US
NetRange: 129.253.0.0 - 129.253.255.255
CIDR: 129.253.0.0/16
NetName: WESDIGCO
The site even supports SSL, and has a verisign-issued SSL cert issued to
'Western Digital Corporation'. Looks perfectly genuine
From the original email, however, the chances of receiving a free *DRIVE* looknonexistent at best. Backup and recovery *SOFTWARE* perhaps. Then there is the
whole question of whether the class action suit has any relevance to non-USA
customers.
.
- References:
- Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- From: Damon
- Re: Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- From: Charlie Drake
- Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- Prev by Date: Re: Canon Printer Manuals
- Next by Date: Re: Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- Previous by thread: Re: Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- Next by thread: Re: Interesting Email From Western Digital (long)
- Index(es):