Re: over the net? weird situations
- From: "Roger O" <rozima1@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 6 Mar 2007 11:33:17 -0600
"oldsetter" <bump0.set0.spike0@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
1. Say we have a joust over the net and the ball gets pushed out of the
vertical plane and is completely on one teams side of the net. Would this
be on over-the-net violation due to the simultaneous contact?
If the simultaneous contact occurred while the ball was in the plane, more
power to the joust winner (if the ball lands in-bounds). If the ball lands
out-of-bounds, the joust winner actually loses (as the other side is deemed
to have the impetus in "pushing" the ball out). If the ball remains in play,
then play on!
2. My teams second pass is going to pass about one foot over the net, I
am close to the net where it is passing over me and I am going to let it
go over. A front row player reaches over the net to block the ball and
makes contact on my side. While the ball is still in contact with the
blocker, I reach up and cause simultaneous contact on my side of the net.
(I probably would not have had a play on the ball if the blocker did not
make a play on it.)
If contact is clearly on your side of the net, then this would be an illegal
From your description, it sounds like there are two separate contacts. Ifthe blocker touched the ball first, then how can this be a simultaneous
contact? Simultaneous contact is defined as two or more players touching the
ball at the SAME moment.
If there is simultaneous contact between the blocker and you are a front row
player, then this would also be an illegal block.
If there is simultaneous contact above the net between the blocker and you
as a back row player, then this is a double fault (illegal blocker & illegal
Let's say that the blocker made a legal contact as the ball was in the plane
of the net. If you are a front row player making contact, then play on. If
you are a back row player making contact above the top of the net, you are
an illegal blocker. If you are a back row player making contact below the
top of the net, then play on. Notice that jumping has nothing to do with
where your body contacts the ball above or below the net.
3. My teams 3rd hit is going over the net and is blocked in the plane.
Just after the blocker touches the ball but has not come off his hands
yet, one of my team mates hits the ball and there is simultaneous contact
in the plane. 4th hit or play on?
Again, this is not a simultaneous contact if one player touches the ball
before the opposing team touches.
As long as your team mate was a front row player, this play continues. If he
was a back row player and contact was above the net, he is an illegal
If this was a true simultaneous contact, then this is the 4th hit.
I stand to be over-ruled by any other higher authority or Todd. ;)
Hope this helps,
USAV National Official
Thanks in advance, and yes I have actually seen or been in these
situations. Assume none of the contacts were prolonged - they were not.
- over the net? weird situations
- From: oldsetter
- over the net? weird situations
- Prev by Date: PLYOMETRIC VIDEOS
- Next by Date: Re: over the net? weird situations
- Previous by thread: over the net? weird situations
- Next by thread: Re: over the net? weird situations