Re: scam?/spam misusing Boy Scouts name



In article <vNYve.1037752$w62.221376@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, William Sheehan, Jr. wrote:
> Forward the mail to the abuse mailbox listed here...

Already done so. However network ISP abuse box readers rarely contact
people who the scammer may be using to make himself look good.

Someone else sent me private email with a contact address which so far
hasn't bounced.

Many thanks for all the help,

Emma


> WHOIS results for 128.241.54.234
> Generated by www.DNSstuff.com
> Location: United States [City: Englewood, Colorado]
>
> NOTE: More information appears to be available at VIA4-ORG-ARIN.
>
> Using 0 day old cached answer (or, you can get fresh results).
> Displaying E-mail address (use sparingly -- this will make it more likely
> that you will trigger our rate limiting system).
>
>
> OrgName: Verio, Inc.
> OrgID: VRIO
> Address: 8005 South Chester Street
> Address: Suite 200
> City: Englewood
> StateProv: CO
> PostalCode: 80112
> Country: US
>
> ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.verio.net:4321/
>
> NetRange: 128.241.0.0 - 128.241.255.255
> CIDR: 128.241.0.0/16
> NetName: VRIO-128-241
> NetHandle: NET-128-241-0-0-1
> Parent: NET-128-0-0-0-0
> NetType: Direct Allocation
> NameServer: NS0.VERIO.NET
> NameServer: NS1.VERIO.NET
> NameServer: NS2.VERIO.NET
> NameServer: NS3.VERIO.NET
> NameServer: NS4.VERIO.NET
> Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
> Comment:
> Comment: ********************************************
> Comment: Reassignment information for this block is
> Comment: available at rwhois.verio.net port 4321
> Comment: ********************************************
> RegDate: 2000-07-26
> Updated: 2003-08-27
>
> TechHandle: VIA4-ORG-ARIN
> TechName: Verio, Inc.
> TechPhone: +1-303-645-1900
> TechEmail: vipar@xxxxxxxxx
>
> OrgAbuseHandle: VAC5-ARIN
> OrgAbuseName: Verio Abuse Contact
> OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-551-1630
> OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@xxxxxxxxx
>
> OrgNOCHandle: VSC-ARIN
> OrgNOCName: Verio Support Contact
> OrgNOCPhone: +1-800-551-1630
> OrgNOCEmail: support@xxxxxxxxx
>
> OrgTechHandle: VIA4-ORG-ARIN
> OrgTechName: Verio, Inc.
> OrgTechPhone: +1-303-645-1900
> OrgTechEmail: vipar@xxxxxxxxx
>
> # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-06-26 19:10
> # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
>
> "Emma Pease" <emma@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:slrndbop1v.892.emma@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>>
>> Got a spam last night that seems to also be a scam using the Boy
>> Scouts' name; however, I can't find a contact address for reporting
>> this to the BSA. I tried mailing to postmaster@xxxxxxxxxxxx but it
>> bounced with user unknown (which is a violation on internet
>> regulations covering mail servers). I have contacted the ISP hosting
>> the web site and of the computer sending the message.
>>
>> Any suggestions?
>>
>> The web sites in question are
>>
>> http://www.phoneraiser.com/
>> and more importantly from the BSA point of view
>> www.boyscoutfundraiser.com
>>
>> both with IPs of 128.241.54.234
>>
>> The pitch is
>>
>> The BoyScoutPhoneRaiser Drive is designed to help you raise funds for
>> your troop, while protecting the environment, through the collection
>> of used cell phones.
>>
>> We pay up to $200 per qualifying* cell phone Simply collect cell
>> phones from your parents, friends, neighbors, and businesses in your
>> community.
>>
>> I note the domain name boyscoutfundraiser.com is not apparently owned
>> by the BSA and there is no link from that page to the Boy Scouts of
>> America (beyond the name and beyond that both it and scouting.org have
>> the same very big ISP, Verio).
>>
>> Note that this message was sent as spam (the address I got it under
>> was a work specific, special use address not a personal email address
>> so there is no way it was legitimately signed up for any list for
>> which this mailing might be permissable in addition this or very
>> similar messages have been reported to news.admin.net-abuse.sightings
>> as spam) so if in fact the BSA has approved this, it is approving
>> spam. My own feeling is that this is scam and that the BSA has
>> absolutely nothing to do with it.
>>
>> Emma
>>
>> --
>> \----
>> |\* | Emma Pease Net Spinster
>> |_\/ Die Luft der Freiheit weht
>
>


--
\----
|\* | Emma Pease Net Spinster
|_\/ Die Luft der Freiheit weht
.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: scam?/spam misusing Boy Scouts name
    ... WHOIS results for 128.241.54.234 ... TechName: Verio, Inc. ... > Got a spam last night that seems to also be a scam using the Boy ... > this to the BSA. ...
    (rec.scouting.usa)
  • Will SMTP Work In This Scenario?
    ... I am trying to set up SMTP mail on my SBS 2003 box ... - We have a domain name through Verio, "junk.com", but they are not our ISP. ... One of my points of confusion is how an incoming email "knows" where to ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: Cure for Diabetes - Read On!
    ... NameServer: NS1.VERIO.NET ... TechName: Verio, Inc. ... OrgNOCHandle: VSC-ARIN ... OrgTechName: Verio, Inc. ...
    (sci.med)
  • Re: [SLE] Firewall interpretation request
    ... On Thursday 31 July 2003 22:08 pm, John wrote: ... NameServer: NS1.VERIO.NET ... TechName: Verio, Inc. ... OrgNOCHandle: VSC-ARIN ...
    (SuSE)
  • Re: He deserves it!
    ... >>guy whose ISP is verio. ... > I suspect it's the same guy, unless Duane has pissed someone else off ...
    (comp.security.firewalls)