Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: ASAAR <caught@xxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 31 Jul 2007 14:46:42 -0400
On 31 Jul 2007 10:16:56 -0700, Bill Tuthill wrote:
I can usually tell which is which - there's a certain deep ironic humor to
the posts that reminds me of the Dark Lord Voldemort, Michael Christie aka
artistmike. He shadowed Hecate for a few weeks or months...
I'm trying to figure out whether ASAAR really recommended Photoline 32
over Photoshop, or whether that was a forged post. There wasn't enough
ironic humor in that post for me to distinguish.
This reply of yours bears a hint of forgery itself, or perhaps a
misinterpretation of the routing path shown in the header.
Searching all of the messages I've retrieved this year, 52 contained
the string "newsfeed.gamma.RU", and none of them were posted by
"ASAAR", real or forged. Your own message contained this path :
Path: sn-us!sn-feed-sjc-02!sn-xt-sjc-11!sn-xt-sjc-06!sn-xt-sjc-12!
supernews.com!news-out.readnews.com!news-xxxfer.readnews.com
!nx01.iad01.newshosting.com!newshosting.com!newsfeed.kamp.net!
newsfeed.kamp.net!213.239.142.2.MISMATCH!feed.xsnews.nl!
border-1.ams.xsnews.nl!border1.nntp.ams.giganews.com!
nntp.giganews.com!uio.no!newsfeeds.sol.net!
newspeer1.asbnva01.us.to.verio.net!newsread1.mlpsca01.us.to.verio.net!
5cd0c76e!not-for-mail
I'm far from a usenet expert, but I'd take this path to indicate
that your message originated from verio.net and eventually made it's
way to my NNTP host, which uses supernews.com. Intermediate hops
reaching newsfeed.kamp.net and xsnews.nl shouldn't be read to
indicate that either of them are associated with *you*. If you
examine the header of the message that you posted which has this
Message ID:, which is the one I copied the above Path: header from :
Message-ID: <46af6e88@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
and look at its Path: header, it shouldn't exactly match the one
above, since the non-fixed path used to get the message from you to
you isn't the same as the path that would get the message from you
to me. :) But verio.net should also appear near the end of the
Path: header, indicating where its origin.
I'm thinking that posts with header showing newsfeed.gamma.RU are fake,
so the recommendation of Photoline 32 was real. (?)
As I said, I don't think that the "newsfeed.gamma.RU" is
significant unless it's at the tail end of the Path: header. If I'm
wrong about this someone will probably (and should) correct me.
None of my messages (or even the forgeries) show up in any of the
52 messages from 37 different posters containing that string, so the
message that you saw with "newsfeed.gamma.RU" in it is unlikely to
contain it near the tail end of the Path: header. I assume that
that header is where you saw it. Would you care to quote it in a
reply?
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: Bill Tuthill
- Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- References:
- Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: Bill Tuthill
- Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: ASAAR
- Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: Mike Russell
- Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- From: Bill Tuthill
- Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- Prev by Date: Re: Walgreen's Ink Cartridge Refilling
- Next by Date: juli 2007
- Previous by thread: Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- Next by thread: Re: Will the real ASAAR please stand up?
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|