Re: Mayo Clinic has some new ideas about how we should work at computers



On Wed, 23 May 2007 22:06:29 -0400, Ed Ruf (REPLY to E-MAIL IN
SIG!) wrote:

Some of them, such as the latest (Mayo), while not specifically
about digital photography, are peripherally related (p.i.) as
computers are involved. I think that even so, if not overdone, they
help improve the n.g. by breaking the monotony

It's off topic and pointing to a commercial site which derives revenue from
the number of visitors, no?

This one wasn't completely on topic, but most are. But by your
standards, wouldn't most camera/photography related websites be
considered to be commercial? Not too long ago I posted a list of
websites worth visiting, which included :

http://www.bobatkins.com/
http://bythom.com/
http://www.digitaljournalist.org/contents.html
http://www.dimagemaker.com/
http://www.fredmiranda.com/
http://www.imaging-resource.com/
http://www.kenrockwell.com/
http://luminous-landscape.com/
http://www.megapixel.net/html/cover.php
http://www.normankoren.com/
http://www.photo.net/
http://www.photozone.de/
http://www.shortcourses.com

Would you object if Bob Atkins, Fred Miranda, Michael Reichmann,
Norman Koren, or for that matter, the non-listed Phil Askey dropped
in occasionally to post a notice of some interesting article or
announcement that recently appeared on their website? For obvious
reasons I didn't add Ken. R. to this short list. :)

And there is one poster, Mike Russell, who only stops in here from
time to time (AFAIK) to announce his Curvemeister classes and whose
ng participation seems to be about 0% of Wayne's. I've seen no
objections to Mike's posts, nor do I think that they deserve any. I
won't try to change your opinion of Wayne's posts, which you have a
right to hold. But you've made us well aware of this opinion, and
in *my* opinion, you're starting to carry it a little too far,
perhaps approaching vendetta territory.


Strangely, they don't catch or comment on some that trigger mine,
such as one guy that seems to have a vested interest in promoting
Li-Ion batteries. Fortunately, he's been keeping a fairly low
profile over the last odd number of months.

Is he promoting a commercially supported site? If so he deserves the same.

He (Steven Scharf, aka SMS) is very secretive and discloses very
little, both here and on the websites. It's surprising that the
mention of "Li-Ion batteries" didn't give it away. Batterydata.com
is a quite long, single page website that's an extended pro-Li-ion
rant, full of misinformation as well as getting in a number of cheap
shots against rec.photo.digital. At the bottom of the page where
there are several click-throughs for Amazon and Adorama, he has :

batteryacademician@xxxxxxxxxxx (replace "geemail" with "gmail")

as the way to contact him to register complaints, dispute
information, ask questions or comment, but nowhere does he identify
himself. He then adds :

I pay for the domain names and web hosting for these informational web sites
out of my own pocket, to support the dissemination of accurate and unbiased
information on the web. Please help me continue to provide this service by
using these links when ordering from Amazon or Adorama. I receive a small
percentage of sales when you use these links. Thank you to everyone that has
been supporting these sites.

© 2006, The Nordic Group

But http://batterydata.com/ and http://nordicgroup.us/battery/
appear to be identical, and the Nordic Group's Wireless Networks
Business Unit web page (http://nordicgroup.us/wnbu/) lists

Contact scharf.steven@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx for a Detailed Quote

So The Nordic Group, which he has referred people to from time to
time on r.p.d., may be his employer, may be owned by him, or he may
be one of its controlling partners. If he was simply an employee,
one wonders how or why The Nordic Group would let him use their
resources as if it were his personal plaything. Oh, wait. He has
already said that he has paid for these websites (the domain name
and web hosting) out of his own pocket. Who *is* this masked man? :)

He also has a web page at http://nordicgroup.us/sigma/ that goes
into great detail about Sigma's DSLRs. It starts with :

This web site is intended to counter the misinformation, regarding
Sigma Digital SLRs, that is being promulgated on the Usenet Group
rec.photo.digital, by one or two individuals (posting under many
different aliases).

and concludes with :

If you want to get more information about the Sigma D-SLRs there are a
couple of forums that are available. rec.photo.digital is the Usenet forum,
but I suggest you enter it via a regular newsreader, not via Google Groups.
For some reason, rec.photo.digital has been attacked by a bunch of low-lifers,
so considerable subject filtering, and blocking of senders is necessary in order
to get anything of value.

There is also the dpreview Sigma forum. You can get some good information
on this forum, but unfortunately there are some very insecure people over there,
who get extremely upset if anything negative is posted about the SD9 or SD10.
Anytime anyone says anything negative about Sigma or Foveon, you'll see a
flurry of posts along the lines of:

* What is their problem?
* Why won't the world listen to us?
* Who can we report them to?
* They must be mentally ill and should seek help.
* Can we find out their home address?

So there you have it. SMS has evidently amassed a good deal of
knowledge over the years. The problem is that he seems to have
several agendas and spoons out his knowledge selectively in order to
support those products that he likes and to steer people away from
products that he disapproves of. It wouldn't surprise me at all if
his websites aren't simply his own vanity projects, and that he may
have some industry affiliations. But if there are any such
conflicts of interest, don't expect to hear about them from him. He
also frequently recommends Sterlingtek.com but I've seen no evidence
to link him with them, but that doesn't prove that there is no
association. If and when he provides future links, remember that
he's not a disinterested party and appears to be affiliated with :

http://batterydata.com (a Nordic Group website)
http://digitalslrinfo.com (a Nordic Group website)
http://digitalcamerashortlist.com/ (a Nordic Group website)
http://nordicgroup.us/battery/
http://nordicgroup.us/sigma

.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: Question for Dan
    ... < axe to grind -- who will support your outrageous claims. ... < Can you honestly tell us that the people who put up these websites you ... Countless delegations of foreign experts have visited Cuba to see the ...
    (soc.culture.cuba)
  • Re: IIS 6 testing
    ... Virtual Directories don't support host headers, only websites do, so the you ... I do not do technical support via email. ... >> If you have the web site pointing to a folder on your C: ...
    (microsoft.public.inetserver.iis.security)
  • Re: *~* Online WACOC News 2006 *~*
    ... Expressing ourselves through music and websites is so nice and dearly ... Please Support NCF's Research Plans ... FM ME CFIDS Information Forum ... "What lies behind us and what lies before us, are tiny matters, ...
    (alt.med.fibromyalgia)
  • RE: VB6 MSXML2.XMLHTTP40 Error
    ... websites in VB6 using MSXML. ... Microsoft Online Community Support ... where an initial response from the community or a Microsoft Support ... project analysis and dump analysis issues. ...
    (microsoft.public.vb.general.discussion)
  • Re: Damn you, FEDEX! or Nikon D40 lost in Springfield, MO blackhole.
    ... the 2 mp Mavica he had been using with a Nikon D40. ... After shopping around, he got me to order one for him. ... The shipper had it insured, but from what I have read it could take weeks to sort this crap out. ... You may get your insurance from FedEx and a couple weeks later they find it and deliver it. ...
    (alt.photography)

Loading