Re: Ashbys of London -- anyone familiar with this tea?



Alex <samalex@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
I found the website http://www.ashbysteasoflondon.com/, but it appears
not to have been updated in probably 4-5 years. This site also just
opens the website http://www.galaxymall.com/retail/java/ in a frame,
but the order and contact information for them is Griffith Enterprises,
10325 W. 23rd Ave. Lakewood, Co. 80215. Being that I'm in Texas
myself, I'm not against tea from the US, but I was really disappointed
to find that Ashbys of London is actually in Colorado. Also in
searching in Google for the phone number on the website it shows to be
also the phone number for a Gambling Site -
http://www.galaxymall.com/retail/gamblingold/ - and for some guy in
Lakewood, Colorado.

Galaxymall is a sort of "online mall." A few years ago they had got together
with some folks who offered web training... you could take their class for
a $3,000 fee and they'd teach you how to set up a web site, then they'd
charge some crazy amount of money for hosting. It was sold in a high pressure
sales seminar that went around the country and a lot of small business guys
that were just starting out and didn't have a lot of experience bit on it.

The address you got from the NIC database is probably for the hosting
company and not for the actual client. Odds are the hosting company
has their number on a whole lot of web sites for a lot of things.

Does the website have any direct contact info online anywhere?

Anyone know if any of this info is still accurate? I've sent an email
to them (which is a Yahoo address), so maybe they'll reply back. Just
curious since they say it was established in 1850 and are in London.
Maybe some schmuck just got the domain name ashbysoflondon.com and
forwarded it to a site selling their tea... dunno. Just curious if
anyone's familiar with Ashbys of London or has any contact info for
them or a good online redistribution site if not.

My suspicion is that the guys with the Galaxymall site are a one or two
man operation and the owners have lost interest in the thing. But you
never know.

I'd do a more careful search with an online company registry and see.
--scott
--
"C'est un Nagra. C'est suisse, et tres, tres precis."
.


Loading