Re: Photography Now is probably a scam



On Tue, 16 Dec 2008 09:50:28 -0800 (PST), agno33@xxxxxxxxx wrote:

On Dec 13, 1:21 pm, Tim <tschna...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On Dec 13, 11:55 am, "Reginald P. Smithers III, Esq."

<lant...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
For the photographers out there, I found a great web site that includes
photographic work of both the Masters and Contemporary photographers
that include a wide range of styles.

http://photography-now.net/

Thanks Reg. I'll check into it when I get home.

Photography-now.net is probably some sort of scam. They lifted my
images and text from other sources without asking or telling me, which
is illegal copyright infringement. I sent 3 emails asking them to
remove my work - they only responded when I threatened legal action.
And they responded by insulting me. They still have not removed the
work. Their website gives no contact information other than a
webmasters email. His/her email to me was unsigned. They claim to be a
"nonprofit network" which they most certainly are not. They claim to
be in Denver - according to their IP numbers they are either in Hong
Kong or Europe. Then English grammar on the website suggests a non-
native speaker, and the "puiblisher" Barbara Kennedy is obviously
fictitious. Please don't do business with these people.
You might wonder why I'm complaining about free publicity - I don't
appreciate being used as "bait" for some skeevy, fishy bottom feeders,
nor do I want to be associated with them.
Ellen Susan

Signs of the times - you are seeing it everywhere. When I went
through the site a few days ago, I noticed two images directly off the
myfourthirds site for Olympus.

Another thing you are also seeing is commercial images being used as
personal images for various photo sites. I've seen that a bunch of
times.

Sadly, nothing you can do other than file a complaint with your ISP,
the FCC and, in theory, your hosting company. There is a mechanism
for obtaining cease and desist and legal assistance - one positive
result of DMA legislation - but it requires a dollar investment - not
sure if it's worth it to you.

Good luck though - all the best.
.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: attn. buzzy...red x....first draft....
    ... A number of people have complained that they cannot see the images ... who have suffered from this problem viewing your website!!! ... be recorded in server logs and used/manipulated by website-owners.] ... The referrer header tells the server from which page your request ...
    (uk.politics.misc)
  • Re: Cursor movement
    ... posted for you to look at and it's not a "real" website yet. ... lots of non breaking spaces and your images. ... Not sure how or where you are trying to drag and drop the images. ... the side of other picture instead of below. ...
    (microsoft.public.frontpage.client)
  • Re: Images/CSS not resolving on dev machine testing
    ... the correct dotnet framework install folder for version 2.0. ... default website now points to c:\devlopment\myprojfolder. ... you get your images to show up as if you were programming from a root web? ... picture has a reference on how to do it. ...
    (microsoft.public.dotnet.framework.aspnet)
  • Re: Cursor movement
    ... It's hard to design a website if you don't know how to use the program. ... lots of non breaking spaces and your images. ... You can certainly upgrade to Expression Web but to my mind it requires ... the side of other picture instead of below. ...
    (microsoft.public.frontpage.client)
  • Securing documents - SQL Server or FileSystem
    ... I am writing a .NET web application that provides secure access to ... images and files. ... many of which will appear on a public website ...
    (microsoft.public.inetserver.asp.db)

Loading