Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Towse <self@xxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 29 Apr 2008 16:57:58 -0700
Bill Penrose wrote:
On Apr 29, 2:31 pm, Towse <s...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:That's not what their letter says and it's why you should read carefully
when you get crap like this in the mail.
I have a dated receipt from Network Solutions. I posted this because
perhaps not everyone is aware of this vulnerability.
Perhaps not. If you register a domain name, though, you should be.
inveis.com is a registrar for China. They're telling you that someone is
trying for your domain with a .cn extension. Are you worried about that?
There was no mention of the .cn top domain. Read it. Just the
subdomain customsensorsolutions
There was no mention of any extension because inveis.com didn't think telling you that someone was trying to register customsensorsolutions.cn or customsensorsolutions.tw or customsensorsolutions.hk would rattle your cage any.
If you go to their site <http://www.inveis.com/BUSINESSRANGE.ASP>, you'll see that they register .cn, .tw and .hk domains.
And if you pop their name into the Google search engine, you'll find that they've been spamming this stuff to all sorts of souls.
All I had to do was confirm with NS that my registration was secure,
and no worries.
My HUGE worry is that someone has registered towse.cn and I CAN'T READ WHAT'S THERE! Oh, noze!
--
Sal
Ye olde swarm of links: thousands of links for writers, researchers and the terminally curious <http://writers.internet-resources.com>
.
- References:
- If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Bill Penrose
- Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Towse
- Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Bill Penrose
- Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Towse
- Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- From: Bill Penrose
- If You Own a Domain Name...
- Prev by Date: Re: God's Commandments <humo(u)r>
- Next by Date: proof of God
- Previous by thread: Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- Next by thread: Re: If You Own a Domain Name...
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|
|