Re: Paypal warning emails



On 4 Nov 2005 09:52:52 -0800, "Richard Fangnail"
<richardfangnail@xxxxxxxxxx> wrote:

>I've gotten two emails from Paypal containing the below. Is it real?
>When I try to click on the link, Windows gives me a warning saying the
>URL is nonstandard and may be dangerous. When I went to my Paypal page
>it did not say anything about problems.
>
>
>------
>Information Regarding Your account:
>Dear PayPal Member!
>
>Attention! Your PayPal account has been violated!
>
>Someone with ip address [---------] tried to access your personal
>account!
>
>Please click the link below and enter your account information to
>confirm that you are not currently away. You have 3 days to confirm
>account information or your account will be locked.
>
>Click here to activate your account
>
>You can also confirm your email address by logging into your PayPal
>account at
>http://paypal.com/. Click on the "Confirm email" link in the Activate
>Account box and then enter this confirmation number:
>1036-8535-4511-9500-3892
> ----

or this from one of my email boxes :

-----quote-----
LEGAL NOTICE
The following message is an email sent to you by an
administrator of "PayPal.com".
If this message is spam, contains abusive or other comments you find
offensive please contact the webmaster at the following address:
admin@xxxxxxxxxx
Message sent to you follows:
Dear PayPal client,

While performing it's regular scheduled monthly billing address
check our system found incompatible information which seams to be no
longer the same with your current credit card information that we have
on file. If you changed your billing information or if you moved from
you previous address please follow up the link bellow and update your
billing information: If you didn't change any of this information you
still need to follow up the previous link and update your existing
billing information because it means that our database regular
scheduled update wasn't made correctly. Choosing to ignore this
message will result in to a temporary suspension of your account
within 24 hours, until you will choose to solve this unpleasant
situation.

We apologies for any inconvinience this may caused you and we strongly
advise you to update your information you have on file with us.
Clicking https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login_ you will
avoid any possible futuring billing problems with your account.





Best regards,
- PayPal Team.
----unquote----


Funny since I'm not a paypal member.
.



Relevant Pages

  • Phunny Phishing Attempt
    ... points to the REAL Wells Fargo site! ... I got three copies of this phish yesterday alone. ... You Must Update Your Account Information ... billing information unconfirmed, meaning that you may no longer send ...
    (misc.consumers)
  • is this genuine or phishing?
    ... It has come to our attention that your PayPal Billing Information records are out of date. ... Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. ... If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings ...
    (uk.people.consumers.ebay)
  • Re: Hotmail Verification Alert Email
    ... Hotmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. ... some Hotmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. ... i went to the Hotmail site Val and looked at scams but this one is not there however i wouldnt trust this one it asks for billing information instead of asking you to log in to the site and check it. ...
    (uk.people.silversurfers)
  • Re: aggregate sql
    ... information group by name, account, cycle date where ((1-((select amount ... billed from billing information where promo id is not null)/(select amount ...
    (microsoft.public.access.queries)
  • Re: PayPal spoof
    ... "Dear PayPal Member ... Your account is limited. ... Thanks for the waning from a newbie to this group, I cannot remember if M$ xp does it but with Vista if you hover your mouse arrow over the dodgy link you can see in the taskbar the originating website address, on three occasions I have contacted the dodgy website hosters to report them but have never had a reply, they seem to originate from Russia or China. ...
    (uk.people.consumers.ebay)