Re: TLG GREATFN - unauthorized $8.99 credit card charge



In article <fn3oe19u06gc1p0euf2vche3m4ucjqdtd4@xxxxxxx>,
Scott en Aztl?n <scottenaztlan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:

> On 30 Jul 2005 13:29:17 -0700, "dmer" <dmer0324@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
>
> >If you have an entry on your cc statement similar to this:
> >
> >---> TLG GREATFN ...800-285-5903 CT MAIL/PHONE $8.99
> >
> >It most likely is an unauthorized $8.99 credit card charge. TLG GREATFN
> >(www.greatfunonline.com) or its affiliates may have mislead you and is
> >charging your credit card!!! Lately people have been unknowingly
> >charged. TLG is Trilegiant at www.trilegiant.com. Don't let them
> >slowly syphon money from your credit card account!!! TLG is a parent
> >of cheaptickets.com and many others.
>
> This may or may not be related, but I've noticed a resurgence of SPAM
> sent to an email address I used *exclusively* for TheTrip.com (now a
> part of CheapTickets.com). Now, maybe some SPAMmers hacked a website
> to get this address... Or maybe this TLG company is just a gigantic
> oozing bag of sleaze.

There's a third option, and its most likely the correct one. The
spammers may simply be sending out emails to fairly random sets of
characters to the server where your email account resides. Any grade
school kid could write a perl script of VB script to do this kind of
thing in about five minutes.
.



Relevant Pages