Disk Utility - difference between "Eject" and "Unmount"




In Disk Utility one can "Unmount" or "Eject" the volume on a physical device.

What's the difference? Does unmount logically disconnect it but not "eject" the physical media (on devices that can eject)?

--
"Civilization is the limitless multiplication of unnecessary necessities."
-Samuel Clemens.
.