Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: "Barry Veinotte" <barry@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Thu, 17 Nov 2005 09:29:10 GMT
> Well I call that a forgery, and that is one thing I look for when deciding
> to block a server, and I will block them at the firewall, and any server
> that doesn't write any received header at all (which is what you are
> essentially suggesting) get's blocked or at the very least never white-
> listed. I don't care about private IPs, only public IPs.
> I really doubt that the header that Sendmail was writing is the problem,
it
> looks to me like the problem is with his DNS. Look it up in
> http://www.dnsreport.com/ , for one there's no MX record for the eMail
> address he's using here, which is a good enough reason to get rejected, I
> don't reject based on senders with no MX, but I'd like to.
> I'm no expert on DNS, but at one time I probably found enough info to
> figure it out on either Windows or UNIX, all I can recover right now is
> http://www.dnsstuff.com/info/revdns.htm
> http://www.garykessler.net/library/dns.html
> http://www.hostlibrary.com/BasicDNSPTRRecordsAndWhyYouCare-reverse-ip.html
>
> and a bunch other DNS BIND stuff. I'm sure there's better info, like a
> book.
>
I have tons of rejected mail due to timeouts when the receiving end looks to
be trying to resolve the internal IP in the received from header. Some
actually
bounce with "Config error - mail loops back to me..." because they are
trying
to resolve 192.168.1.1
I have "DNS and BIND" in front of me, and admit I should go back to page
one and start over. However, I do have (obviously wrong) MX records in
place.
Could you tell me what is wrong with this entry? Don't be gentle - I know I
don't
know what I am doing!
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA ns1.veinotte.com. webmaster.veinotte.com. (
1038079814 ; Serial
10800 ; Refresh
3600 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire
86400 ) ; Minimum
veinotte.com. IN NS ns1.veinotte.com.
veinotte.com. IN NS ns2.veinotte.com.
veinotte.com. IN A 24.222.94.162
ns1.veinotte.com. IN A 24.222.94.162
ns2.veinotte.com. IN A 24.222.94.163
mail.veinotte.com. IN A 24.222.94.162
*.veinotte.com. IN A 24.222.94.162
veinotte.com. IN MX 10 mail.veinotte.com.
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: Kari Hurtta
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- References:
- Received From IP from behind router
- From: Barry Veinotte
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: Dennis Willson
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: Barry Veinotte
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: Dennis Willson
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: Barry Veinotte
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: J.O. Aho
- Re: Received From IP from behind router
- From: J.O. Aho
- Received From IP from behind router
- Prev by Date: Re: Handling outgoing messages with .procmailrc?
- Next by Date: Re: Received From IP from behind router
- Previous by thread: Re: Received From IP from behind router
- Next by thread: Re: Received From IP from behind router
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|