Re: Stokes gets a save in a 12-run game???
- From: tmp <tmp@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Thu, 14 Aug 2008 09:16:13 -0400
On Thu, 14 Aug 2008 02:38:29 GMT, Phil <phil@xxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Am I misunderstanding the rule? How is this a save?
At least three innings, regardless of score, to finish the game in a
win is a save.
Although, that type of save is at the discretion of the official scorer.
He has to pitch "effectively". If Stokes had given up 8 runs in those 4
innings, it wouldn't be a save. FWIW, the save rule:
Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following
(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and
(2) He is not the winning pitcher; and
(3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions:
- (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and
pitches for at least one inning; or
- (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential
tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the
potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the
first two batsmen he faces; or
- (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than
one save may be credited in each game.
- Prev by Date: Re: Team Tatis!
- Next by Date: Re: Team Tatis!
- Previous by thread: Re: Stokes gets a save in a 12-run game???
- Next by thread: Ruben get's knocked out in the first round of a spelling bee.