Re: MI5 freak out...
- From: "Paul T. Holland" <pholland@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sun, 13 Jan 2008 22:27:38 GMT
thanks, i hope others did also - admins can use positive feedback!
nanny wrote:
.
Paul, I did the next best thing: after you heard from weirdo's server, I
wrote them and thanked for taking care of the matter. Nanny
"Paul T. Holland" <pholland@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:478299BD.B2DA46BF@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
please folks, remember it usually takes multiple email complaints to get
the attention of the isp/server admins
the reason i post the info is to try to make it a bit easier for all of
us to have our voices heard -
sometimes we get lucky like this time
be well
paul
nanny wrote:
Good for you Paul! We need a good "spammer bammer" and you are really on
your toes reporting them. Thanks! Nanny
"Chris Caputo" <ccaputo@xxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:1hhus3.4p2.19.2@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hi. Just a follow-up to say that I stopped this flooder as quickly as
I
became aware of it happening.
Chris Caputo
President, Altopia Corporation
"Paul T. Holland" <pholland@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> writes:
well, it's nt really about the nym he uses [or multiples thereof] -
it's
the newserver service he's on - last week he got booted from the fourth
one in '07 - this latest was newsguy. he was 'flooding' in violation
of
their tos/aup
unfortunately, mi5 has now switched over to altopia, and they aren't
known to stop this sort of thing
-we can try to report him, but their tos/aup gives extremely wide
latitude
https://www.altopia.com/detailedterms.html
"Altopia has no obligation to monitor or remove information on the
System and Customer acknowledges that postings and communications by
other users are not reviewed, monitored, screened, approved or endorsed
by Altopia."
"#
Content. Customer shall not use the System to post or transmit any
illegal material, including without limitation any transmissions that
would constitute a criminal offense, give rise to civil liability, or
otherwise violate any local, state, national or international law or
regulation, including without limitation United States export control
laws and regulations."
one can try under:
"Q: What is your policy on cross-posting?
A: Cross-posting ability is not to be used by customers for the purpose
of "cascading". We may disable the cross-posting ability of a customer
if we believe they are violating this policy."
but -imo- the volume of mi5 posts does not rise to the level that
[below] can be used:
"Q: What is your policy on message floods?
A: If a message flood is resulting in a denial of service, we will stop
it. If a user on Altopia is causing it, we may disable their posting
ability. If an incoming flood is making a group or groups available on
Altopia be unusable, we may delete the message flood or prevent it, so
as to make the group(s) be usable. A denial of service is when news
servers are unable to perform their intended function because of the
overload caused by a message flood or other harmful activity. Readers
inconvenienced by numerous off-topic or inappropriate postings does not
constitute a flood or denial of service."
you could try under this clause:
"Q: What is your policy on non-advertising excessive multi-postings
(EMP)?
A: We consider excessive multi-postings to be a flood and we react to
it
as described above."
long shot for this part:
"Q: What is your policy on off-topic postings?
A: We do not have a policy against off-topic postings and we rely on
users to operate in a way that they feel is appropriate for Usenet
and/or the groups they are participating in."
likewise, this would be a long shot:
"Q: What is your policy on a user posting with a bogus return address?
A: We feel users have a right to decide whether to be anonymous or not
and so we do not have a problem with a user posting with a bogus return
address. The news server software does require that a return address be
in Internet standard format, such as foo@bar, but the address does not
have to be real. We do require that users verify that the address they
choose to use is not actually someone else's valid address or domain.
For example, bar@xxxxxxx is actually a valid email address, because
foo.com is a registered domain."
all in all, things will now e a bit more diff. for those who
don't/can't
filter the poor soul
for those that read using their own isp service, ask them to filter the
guy's posts - some will, but not many. if you only use google, they
don't...you can set a filter on most newsreaders - but since he does
use multiple / changing nyms, it's harder.
take a look at the posts of folk you do read, only a few are on
altopia,
so your filter could be set for altopia.com...and/or combinations of
the
mi5 as he changes them.
i know, it's boring, but usenet includes strange folk like this one.
be well
paul
"jennieandchris@xxxxxxxxx" wrote:
On Dec 30 2007, 3:21 pm, "Paul T. Holland"
<pholl...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
wrote:
please be aware that if your guy is receiving 'emails' - that is a
tosable aup offense on almost every provider - 'provided' that your
guy
didn't/hasn't initiated or continued the emails.
if mi5 is simply posting to a newsgroup or other forum, then the
issue
is whether those posts are 'off-topic', and/or whether your guy has
flamed, tweaked, or otherwise responded to mi5, excepting only to
state
that the posts are unwanted/off-topic.
the general sense of any usenet server is that if you participate
in
the
games, you don't have the right to complain if someone ups the
ante...
sooo
if your guy is in the clear, email me with the particulars and i'll
take
a look and see what can be done.
"jennieandch...@xxxxxxxxx" wrote:
Just thought that I would let all of you know that there is a guy
here
who states that MI5 is stocking him and that is being harrassed
by
them. Someone just had him kicked off of the migraine sight but
now
he is here. Anyone know how to get someone kicked off for
spamming.
He was doing like ten postings a day over on the other site! I
knew
how to get rid of him I would because he is slightly crazy and
very
paranoid.
Jennie- Hide quoted text -
- Show quoted text -
Paul, I have no idea but as you can see the idiot has raided this
site
too. He has gotten the chronic pain site and the depression site as
well! Urg! I just want to smack the idiot but he has more then one
user name posting and that makes it even harder to get him off.
Help!!!!
Jennie
- References:
- Re: MI5 freak out...
- From: jennieandchris@xxxxxxxxx
- Re: MI5 freak out...
- From: Paul T. Holland
- Re: MI5 freak out...
- From: Chris Caputo
- Re: MI5 freak out...
- From: Paul T. Holland
- Re: MI5 freak out...
- Prev by Date: Re: spamtiti.com - All free online dating community
- Next by Date: Re: Hangup for many AMFers - my announcement of FM cure
- Previous by thread: Re: MI5 freak out...
- Next by thread: About Rosie
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|