Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- From: Char Jackson <none@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Mon, 07 Sep 2009 13:04:18 -0500
On Mon, 7 Sep 2009 09:47:49 -0700 (PDT), Arianna
<arianna.freeman@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
It was suggested that I post this problem here. Maybe one of you can
help me.
I'm about to rip my hair out.
I got a pop up the other day saying something about how Windows
Security Alerts detected some virus. Like an idiot, I clicked "OK"
without thinking. Now, I have a constant pop-up from some supposed
security alert center asking me to buy it. UNlike other rogue
anti-spyware viruses I've had, though, this one won't let me do
ANYTHING.
I can't run Antivir, Spyware Doctor, MalwareBytes, or Advanced
Systemcare. It won't let me open anything .exe save for Internet
Explorer. I have tried running all of these in Safe Mode. This
doesn't
work either. I have surfed the web and found numerous supposed
"fixes," but once I download them, I can't use them as the error
message pops up once again telling me that it's not a valid Win32
application. I've tried system restore, and it tells me that system
restore was shut off by the administrator.
Please someone help me. I don't want to have to completely redo
EVERYTHING if I don't have to.
Thanks in advance.
I think my wife just ran across the same kind of site. When she
clicked a link to a page that she wanted to see, a dialog box popped
up telling her that her computer is at risk. There is only an OK
button, so she clicked it, allowing the rest of the page to load.
Instead of getting the content that she expected, the page looked like
Windows Explorer down to the last detail, with the common tasks on the
left side and the drives shown in the center of the screen, and when
it finished loading it said that X viruses (different number for each
drive) were found on the respective drives. Lastly, it presents a
download dialog box, offering to let you download an .exe that will
remove everything and get you back in business. The .exe is named
"setup_build7_201.exe"
All in all, I thought it was fairly well done, and had to look twice
before advising my wife to exit without downloading or running
anything from that page. I don't _think_ she got infected by anything,
but we're running scans now. MBAM first, then SAS. NOD32 is resident
and active, and Gmer is standing by.
An example can be found here:
hxxp://thephotoessay.com/chiyin/_notes/t/?5=pacquiao-vs-cotto
Sometimes the page loads with a harmless looking list of CNN news
articles, while other times it loads as described above.
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- From: FromTheRafters
- Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- References:
- **** is not a valid win32 application...
- From: Arianna
- **** is not a valid win32 application...
- Prev by Date: Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- Next by Date: Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- Previous by thread: Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- Next by thread: Re: **** is not a valid win32 application...
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|